Which Democrats in the House are Socialists? Now We Know Thanks to Recent Vote

On Thursday, House Republicans presented a resolution that took a firm stance against socialism and its violent dictators. This was met with surprise from the Democrats, especially their minority leader, Hakeem Jeffries, who argued that this vote undermined the party’s agenda. This issue calls to mind an old adage: “Scratch a liberal, find a fascist.”

In the end, 328 Members of Congress voted in favor of the resolution including Nancy Pelosi and Hakeem Jeffries. However, there were still 86 other Democrats who openly opposed this legislation. These hopelessly lost Democrats made their opposition clear and unashamedly declared their love for communism.

This resolution further highlights the stark differences between Democrats and Republicans when it comes to socialism. The Republican Party has been loud in its denunciation of what it sees as a dangerous ideology while many Democrats remain open to certain aspects of socialism, frequently citing Nordic countries as successful examples of socialist-leaning governance models that have benefited citizens in those regions. Some believe this resolution is part of an effort by House Republicans to capitalize on economic fears brought on by "certain" viruses, hoping to use the crisis to paint socialism in an even more negative light than before.

But those Democrats who refused to vote for this measure have solidified their stances on socialism. Here they are:

OR Rep. Earl Blumenauer [D]
IL Rep. Danny Davis [D]
CO Rep. Diana DeGette [D]
CT Rep. Rosa DeLauro [D]
TX Rep. Lloyd Doggett [D]
AZ Rep. Raul Grijalva [D]
MD Rep. Steny Hoyer [D]
CT Rep. John Larson [D]
CA Rep. Barbara Lee [D]
MN Rep. Betty McCollum [D]
MA Rep. James McGovern [D]
NY Rep. Jerrold Nadler [D]
CA Rep. Grace Napolitano [D]
MA Rep. Richard Neal [D]
NJ Rep. Frank Pallone [D]
NJ Rep. Bill Pascrell [D]
CA Rep. Linda Sanchez [D]
IL Rep. Janice Schakowsky [D]
GA Rep. David Scott [D]
VA Rep. Robert Scott [D]
CA Rep. Brad Sherman [D]
WA Rep. Adam Smith [D]
NY Rep. Nydia Velazquez [D]
CA Rep. Maxine Waters [D]
MO Rep. Emanuel Cleaver [D]
NY Rep. Brian Higgins [D]
TX Rep. Al Green [D]
WI Rep. Gwen Moore [D]
MD Rep. Kweisi Mfume [D]
CT Rep. Joe Courtney [D]
GA Rep. Henry C. Johnson [D]
MD Rep. John Sarbanes [D]
NY Rep. Yvette Clarke [D]
IN Rep. Andre Carson [D]
VA Rep. Gerald Connolly [D]
CT Rep. James Himes [D]
ME Rep. Chellie Pingree [D]
NY Rep. Paul Tonko [D]
CA Rep. Judy Chu [D]
CA Rep. John Garamendi [D]
OR Rep. Suzanne Bonamici [D]
NJ Rep. Donald Payne Jr. [D]
CA Rep. Jared Huffman [D]
CA Rep. Tony Cardenas [D]
CA Rep. Mark Takano [D]
CA Rep. Juan Vargas [D]
OH Rep. Joyce Beatty [D]
TX Rep. Joaquin Castro [D]
WI Rep. Mark Pocan [D]
IL Rep. Robin Kelly [D]
NC Rep. Alma Adams [D]
CA Rep. Mark DeSaulnier [D]
CA Rep. Norma Torres [D]
NJ Rep. Bonnie Watson Coleman [D]
VA Rep. Donald Beyer [D]
PA Rep. Dwight Evans [D]
CA Rep. Nanette Barragan [D]
MD Rep. Jamie Raskin [D]
NY Rep. Adriano Espaillat [D]
WA Rep. Pramila Jayapal [D]
CA Rep. Jimmy Gomez [D]
CA Rep. Katie Porter [D]
CT Rep. Jahana Hayes [D]
IL Rep. Jesus Garcia [D]
MA Rep. Ayanna Pressley [D]
MI Rep. Rashida Tlaib [D]
MN Rep. Ilhan Omar [D]
NY Rep. Alexandria Ocasio-Cortez [D]
TX Rep. Lizzie Fletcher [D]
TX Rep. Sylvia Garcia [D]
GA Rep. Nikema Williams [D]
MO Rep. Cori Bush [D]
NY Rep. Jamaal Bowman [D]
CA Rep. Kevin Mullin [D]
CA Rep. Sydney Kamlager [D]
CA Rep. Robert Julio Garcia [D]
FL Rep. Maxwell Frost [D]
HI Rep. Jill Tokuda [D]
IL Rep. Delia Ramirez [D]
KY Rep. John McGarvey [D]
MI Rep. Shri Thanedar [D]
NC Rep. Valerie Foushee [D]
NY Rep. Dan Goldman [D]
PA Rep. Summer Lee [D]
TX Rep. Gregorio Casar [D]
VT Rep. Becca Balint [D]

Previous McCarthy Calls Out 47% of Federal Workforce: Time to 'Get Their Butts Back to the Office
Next New Study Indicates Merck's COVID-19 Drug is Responsible for New Mutations of the Virus!